Tag Archives: Old Republic

Drew Karpyshyn Interview – SWBW #26

Play

bookworms Banner

Aaron propped his feet up and let Teresa do all the work this time around. She brings us an awesome interview with fan-favorite Star Wars author Drew Karpyshyn, writer of the Darth Bane Trilogy, Revan, and Annihilation.

In this hour-long interview Drew talks about everything from his writing style, favorite characters, video games, Star Wars Legends and so much more.

Teresa also gets insight from Drew about the characters and story from his current fantasy trilogy, Chaos Born.

At the end of the interview she asks him questions sent into us from Facebook and Twitter. Here he discusses Episode VII, the possibility of writing more Star Wars, theories on Yoda and more.

You don’t want to miss this one!

darth bane

Continue reading

Alexander Freed Interview – SWBW #2

Play

Star Wars Bookworms is back with its 2nd episode! We had so much fun in this episode that we went a lot longer than expected.  So we have broken the March episode into 2 parts.  In this first part we are joined by Club Jade blogger and comic reviewer for Big Shiny Robot, James Floyd (@jamesjawa).

Continue reading

Book Review – Star Wars: The Old Republic: Annihilation

Star Wars: The Old Republic: Annihilation, released today, was the fifth and final new Star Wars novel released by Del Rey in 2012.  I would say that Annihilation is more in the vein of Mercy Kill or Scourge rather than Darth Plagueis or Apocalypse but we’ll get into that later.  First, here is the official synopsis.

The Sith Empire is in flux. The Emperor is missing, presumed dead, and an ambitious Sith Lord’s attempt to seize the throne has ended fatally. Still, Darth Karrid, commander of the fearsome Imperial battle cruiser Ascendant Spear, continues her relentless efforts to achieve total Sith domination of the galaxy.

But Karrid’s ruthless determination is more than matched in the steely resolve of Theron Shan, whose unfinished business with the Empire could change the course of the war for good. Though the son of a Jedi Master, Theron does not wield the Force—but like his renowned mother, the spirit of rebellion is in his blood. As a top covert agent for the Republic, he struck a crucial blow against the Empire by exposing and destroying a Sith superweapon arsenal—which makes him the ideal operative for a daring and dangerous mission to end Ascendant Spear’s reign of terror.

Joined by hot-headed smuggler Teff’ith, with whom he has an inexplicable bond, and wise Jedi warrior Gnost-Dural, Darth Karrid’s former master, Theron must match wits and weapons with a battle-tested crew of the most cold-blooded dark side disciples. But time is brutally short. And if they don’t seize their one chance to succeed, they will surely have countless opportunities to die..

Annihilation is the fourth novel in what is kind of a series of Old Republic novels based on the MMO with the same name.  I say “kind of a series” because the individual novels don’t really have an ongoing narrative and can essentially each stand on their own.  If anything Annihilation is a sequel to the Dark Horse Comics series The Lost Suns which tells a previous story of our main protagonist Theron Shan.  Reading this comic series before reading Annihilation is not necessary but it may help you get to know the characters better and understand some of the references they make.

Continue reading